"Facebook is planning to make its new Timeline format available for brands later this month, according to a report."

Facebook Timeline for Brands Coming Later This Month [REPORT]

thedailywhat:

Forthcoming Facebook Feature? of the Day: Tipster William writes: “So I was just chatting on Facebook chat and I got the option to ‘call’ my friend. it swiftly disappeared.” (Embiggen.)
Is Facebook in the process of adding a “call” feature to profile pages? Is anybody else seeing this?
[thanks william!]

thedailywhat:

Forthcoming Facebook Feature? of the Day: Tipster William writes: “So I was just chatting on Facebook chat and I got the option to ‘call’ my friend. it swiftly disappeared.” (Embiggen.)

Is Facebook in the process of adding a “call” feature to profile pages? Is anybody else seeing this?

[thanks william!]

(Source: thedailywhat)

ooooooo!!!  Titillating!

ooooooo!!!  Titillating!

Twitter changes

Taken from the Twitter newsletter.

Over the coming weeks, we will be making two important updates that will impact how you interact with Twitter applications. We are sending this notice to all Twitter users to make sure you are aware of these changes.

What are applications?

There are over 250,000 applications built using the Twitter API. To use most applications, you first authorize the application to access your Twitter account, after which you can use it to read and post Tweets, discover new users and more. Applications come in many varieties, including desktop applications like TweetDeckSeesmic, or EchoFon, websites such asTweetMemefflick, or Topsy, or mobile applications such as Twitter for iPhoneTwitter for Blackberry, or Foursquare.

Update 1: New authorization rules for applications

Starting August 31, all applications will be required to use “OAuth” to access your Twitter account.

What’s OAuth?

  • OAuth is a technology that enables applications to access Twitter on your behalf with your approval without asking you directly for your password.
  • Desktop and mobile applications may still ask for your password once, but after that request, they are required to use OAuth in order to access your timeline or allow you to tweet.

What does this mean for me?

  • Applications are no longer allowed to store your password.
  • If you change your password, the applications will continue to work.
  • Some applications you have been using may require you to reauthorize them or may stop functioning at the time of this change.
  • All applications you have authorized will be listed athttp://twitter.com/settings/ connections.
  • You can revoke access to any application at any time from the list.

Update 2: t.co URL wrapping

In the coming weeks, we will be expanding the roll-out of our link wrapping service t.co, which wraps links in Tweets with a new, simplified link. Wrapped links are displayed in a way that is easier to read, with the actual domain and part of the URL showing, so that you know what you are clicking on. When you click on a wrapped link, your request will pass through the Twitter service to check if the destination site is known to contain malware, and we then will forward you on to the destination URL. All of that should happen in an instant.

You will start seeing these links on certain accounts that have opted-in to the service; we expect to roll this out to all users by the end of the year. When this happens, all links shared on Twitter.com or third-party apps will be wrapped with a t.co URL.

What does this mean for me?

Thanks for reading this important update. Come and check what’s new athttp://twitter.com.

Thanks,
The Twitter Team

HUGE: Facebook Testing New “Subscribe To” User Feature

Posted by Nick O’Neill on September 2nd, 2010 3:44 PM (taken from allfacebook.com)

subscribe-to-icon1Facebook is in the process of testing a new feature which lets you subscribe to all the actions of a specific user. In other words, you can receive notifications anytime a specific user takes an action on Facebook. It also appears to be Facebook’s answer to Twitter’s follow feature. As a Facebook user who has seen the feature explained to us, “By subscribing you don’t miss any updates from people you subscribe to.”
 
This could also serve as a new engagement opportunity for Pages if Facebook enabled users to subscribe to their activities as well. The result would be a fan count and a “subscriber” count, which is the number of people who are guaranteed to get all of your updates. For the time being it appears to just be a test, however this would definitely change the communications flow within Facebook. It’s also the ultimate stalking tool!

While I’m not quite sure how advanced this feature will be, you could imagine a system in which you get a mobile notification every time one of your friends that you’ve subscribed to makes an update. I think that stalker aspect of the feature could also result in some backlash. Previously, it was chance if a friend’s information was displayed in your feed, however this will remove chance from the process.

As the image below illustrates, you’ll be able to subscribe to the user and then a notification (like the one pictured in the second image) will alert you whenever the person updates their status, posts a photo, or shares a link. However I’m not sure if a notification will also show up if they like things or check in places. We’ve reached out to Facebook for more information about the feature, however we’re not sure if they’ll provide any details as the product is currently in testing.

Subscribe To User Screenshot

Subscription Notification Screenshot